children and technology part 1

Posted on

As the amount of technology in our lives increases the effect it has on children’s lives has been great as children are subjected to technology at an increasingly younger age. When children were growing up 50 years ago the technology that was available to them was always not existent compared to what children have now. This leads to parents and grandparents having different opinions about how much technology should be involved in the child’s upbringing. This is part of what makes up the Prensky debate about digital immigrants and digital natives. Prensky describes a digital immigrant as someone who was born before the digital age and a native as someone who was born in the digital age. There is a lot of debate as to when the digital age began. In my opinion the digital age began somewhere around the late 1970s or the early 1980s. As I was born in the mid 80s I think it its probable that that I would be qualified as a digital native as according to Prensky. Despite this I don’t think that it is not as clear cut as the year you were born in as it can also depend on other factors such as economic status, by this I mean that the more money your parents have the easier it can be for their children to have access to the latest technology. When I was growing up we didn’t have a pc at home till I was in my early teens and the first time we had the internet it was on dial up which as anyone remembers could be very time consuming and frustrating to use. I also didn’t have a mobile phone until I was 16 and when I got it was very basic compared to a smartphone it could ring and text and while it had the internet it was only in a text format. So as I wasn’t really introduced to technology until my teens I’m not sure I feel like a digital native although in the present I am fairly capable with technology and I own a range of devices that would be considered modern day must haves………..

Leave a Reply

